Big Ten announces 2020 and 2021 conference football schedules

By Kevin Kelley -

The Big Ten has announced their 2020 and 2021 conference football schedules. The Big Ten Championship Games will be played on December 5 in 2020 and on December 4 in 2021.

Each team will continue to play every other team within its division (six games) plus three teams from the opposite division. Indiana-Purdue remains as a cross-division protected rivalry.

East Division teams have five conference home games during even-numbered years, while West Division teams have five conference home games during odd-numbered years.

Listed below are links to each team’s 2020 and 2021 football schedule.


East Division

West Division

**Updates in progress.

East Division

West Division

Leave a Reply

Comments (5)

While I like that PSU, Maryland, Rutgers, and Michigan St. rotate season ending rivalries, I am not a fan of Minnesota, Wisconsin, Iowa, and Nebraska doing the same. Keep Minnesota-Wisconsin and Iowa-Nebraska together.


Those games are all annual crossover games as well along with IND-PUR.

Since the B10 went to 9 games in 2016, they have been on the schedule every year for one another. That should be mentioned in the article as it seems like nobody else notices this. So every B10 team has a 6-1-2 formatted schedule. 6 divisional opponents, one annual non-division crossover, and rotation of 2 opponents from the other division.

When the 9-game schedule was announced, teams were supposed to have 1 crossover opponent for a 4-year period (except IU and Purdue which is permanent), based on parity. It was implied or maybe said outright that the matchups would be altered every 4 years but it doesn’t appear to be the case.

It’s actually for 6 years, which makes more sense (6 with a crossover, 2 with the other 6 teams over 6 years). Then change crossovers.

I know this is an older post but where was this said?? I am curious. I am hoping as a Husker fan that we will get Michigan as our next 6 year permanent crossover.